top of page

What are you worried about?

In Matthew 6:25 Jesus tells us not to worry. Is He serious? How do I not worry about my exams? I worry about my future! House payments? Will I have found a Christian spouse by then? How do I not worry about massive medical bills? Do not worry? How is this even possible?


For many years I wrestled with this verse. I've tried multiple strategies to eradicate my worry. I tried putting my trust in my parents who are incredible examples of Christianity, but unfortunately, they are not perfect and have let me down on rare occasions. I attempted to put my trust in good friends, which worked well until they discovered I didn't agree with everything they believed. Society tells us that doctors, policemen and teachers are good people, so I tried putting my trust in authority figures. I very quickly realised how imperfect these people are too. The worrying feeling did not diminish because of these people. In fact, realising that everyone around me had their own problems made me worry more. Ha! I then tried putting my trust in myself and found myself to be unreliable!


In Matthew 28:18, Jesus says that ALL authority in heaven and earth has been given to Him. Interestingly, in many verses, Jesus acknowledges God’s authority by choosing language that puts God first. (Matthew 6:19-33; 22:37-40; 26:39, Mark 12:30; Luke 12:31 John 5:19; 6:38; 14:31; 15:10)


Jesus continues to be the greatest example by showing us how not to worry. It’s simple! He acknowledges God’s authority in all things. So, I started to change my language to replicate Jesus. Instead of giving money authority over my life by saying, “I can’t go on vacation because I don’t have money,” I changed my wording to, “I can’t go on vacation because God has not provided the means at this time.” This removed all power money could have over me and elevated God’s true position over my life. It’s important to understand that this is not me “putting God back where He belongs” (we have no power over God) but rather recognising the infinite position He has always been in! So, I began to say out aloud things like, “I am sick because God is in control of all things,” or, “not my will but God’s Will.” I started to acknowledge God’s true authority over my life more and more, and slowly, I started to realise how little control I have. It is somewhat paradoxical but an extremely humbling experiment. You see, I set out to take control over my life but learned that I don’t really have that much control. Ultimately, it led me to understanding that God is in control of all so, really, how can I worry? Logically, it is impossible to worry over the things I have no control over. I can think of no better Person to hand my worries over to than the Creator of the universe!


If you think about it, we are told to give thanks to God. Giving thanks means that we are to take the time to recognise where our blessings came from and by whose authority they are given. Giving thanks means we acknowledge that God is in charge. In other words, thank you God for 'authorizing' each breath that I take. Thank you for 'authorizing' the food You provided for me to enjoy. Thank you for 'allowing' me to worship You. Thank you for 'allowing' me to exist!


Words are powerful. To quote the character Ben Parker, “With great power comes great responsibility.” It behoves us to admit that words can hurt and destroy or they can set you free. You have a powerful choice in how you use those words. Why not use your words to glorify and acknowledge the One who loves you unconditionally and, in turn, empty yourself of worry? Ask yourself, who is the authority in your life? Know your position and humble yourself before God, and He will lift you up- James 4.


We know that God has already won and that we are on the side of God. So, it begs the question, what are you worried about?


65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page